A Journey with Myself


Sometimes a house-arrest is not so bad. I took off from work today because I was unable to function due to an ankle sprain. With a hot patch around my foot I did something I hadn’t in a long time; I watched a Hollywood flick! Strangely I always prefer watching movies on the television over renting a DVD. Like old wine, I like to enjoy movies long after their release. Today, I watched a wonderful movie. Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia is a 2006 memoir by American author Elizabeth Gilbert. The memoir chronicles the author’s trip around the world after her divorce and what she discovered during her travels.

The movie blends the magic of Rome, the mystery of India and the tranquility of Bali on a fine canvas. The lead is played by Julia Roberts. Julia travels alone to Italy, India and Indonesia in a span of a year to find solace, happiness, peace, love but ultimately her own self. It reminded me of the countless times I have wanted to take a trip alone, interacting with strangers, discovering newer places and ultimately discovering myself.
There is something soothing about the thought of a trip alone.

I got hooked on to this line from the movie; “Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert.

The line reflects truth. All our lives we try to find comfort in another human being to bury our sorrows or multiply our happiness with. When in reality, we are our own everlasting friends. The only soul that has lived every moment of life with you is yourself. Why do we seek repair in another when we are our own healers? Why do we seek company when isolation can be so fulfilling?

They say silence and seclusion are strong paths to inner peace. Somehow, the whole theory of finding a soul mate in another mortal seems insubstantial to me. A soul mate is one that resides within us and can never be found in another mortal.

Someday, I want to live with myself. I want to discover my life through the kaleidoscope of nature, allowing silence to do all the talking. Finding my balance in an imbalanced world. Uncovering the path to inner peace.

Someday, I wish to go on a journey with myself.

3 thoughts on “A Journey with Myself

  1. Hi Preeti,

    Your Ankel sprain has led to a few glimpses of enlightened Thioughts . I liked those lines of finding soul mate within self .

    Enjoyed Reading.

  2. Forgive me for this….hahahahahahahahahahahaha trip alone..hahahahahahahahah live by myself……….
    oh god Pits…please stop making me laugh so much!!!!

Leave a Reply

