Free?


Yet another year gone by,
Yet again we hum a familiar tune.
So many born,
So many lost.
In the ever-changing time,
A question remains constant.
Free is my country, free are you and me.
Free are expressions for the world to see.
Free is nonchalance, free are objections.
Free is pain, free is nonexistence.
My nationality demands an answer.
In this land of freedom, is my tomorrow free?

Yet another ceremony,
Yet again we hum the familiar tune.
So many gone,
So many suppressed.
In this ever-changing time,
The questions remain unheard.
On a happy day of freedom, why is my heart not merry?
On a hopeful day, no hope in future I see.
Is this the vision our ancestors perceived?
Is this the just outcome to several sacrificed souls?
My nationality demands an answer.
In this land of freedom, is my tomorrow free?

Yet another celebration,
Yet again we hum that familiar tune.
Some more to cry for,
Some more depressed.
In the ever-changing time,
My questions remain unanswered.
Amidst my people, why like an orphan today I feel?
On a joyful day, no joy in future I see.
Will the cries ever be heard?
Will my land be represented by the worthy?
My nationality demands an answer.
In this land of freedom, is my tomorrow free?

6 thoughts on “Free?

Leave a Reply

